Some people argue that employees should change their jobs atleast once in their life time. Do you agree or disagree?

Some say that staying in the same occupation for the whole life is the best way to excel in it, while others say switching jobs allows us to find where we suit the best. In my opinion, we should not be fearful of changes; hence, changing to a new work may be beneficial.

To begin with, our ability increases with experience; the more frequently we practice, the better we become. For example, when first taking up the role of a teacher or cashier, it is common to make mistakes, such as putting wrong figures or prices on a product. Yet, as we become familiar with the practices and procedures of a professional teacher or cashier. Furthermore, keeping the same job allows us to be promoted and earn a higher salary.

However, some argue that switching jobs allows us to broaden our horizons; from working as an office worker to a professional artist, these changes provide us opportunities to experience new working environments as well as collaborate with new people. It is beneficial as it improves our ability to adapt. Nevertheless, if we only stay in our comfort zone, we will never know what actually is good for us. For instance, if you are working as a good teacher for 10 years but still find it difficult to speak in front of your group of students, this suggests that you are not suitable for a career that requires interacting with people. As a result, staying as a teacher would not be the best choice; trying jobs which demand fewer communication skills may be better.

All in all, although doing the same job for our whole life helps us to get a good salary, experiencing different careers, we could better understand our strengths and weaknesses, as a result, take up a job which doesn’t only bring wealth but also an environment we like.