Some people believe raising children in the city is better, while others consider the countryside a more suitable choice. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is often discussed whether it is better to raise children in the countryside or in the city. While living in the countryside exposes children to less pollution and a more secure environment, living in the city gives more opportunities in terms of education and culture.

On the one hand, some people affirm that the children, who are raised in the countryside, are less exposed to air pollution due to the reduced number of cars and their CO2 emissions. Furthermore, these children live in a more secure environment with less exposion to criminality and vandalism. For example, it is well known that in school located in small villages the proportion of drug trafficking is inferior if compared to the big cities´ one.

On the other hand, others argue that cities give more opportunities in terms of education, culture and social interaction. Children, who are raised in the city, can choose which school to attend, depending on their inclinations, in order to have a better education. This is, of course, a big difference with small villages in the countryside, where every one has to attend the same school because there is no other option. Moreover, living in the city gives children a higher exposure to music, art and culture. They can in fact, on regularly basis, visit museums, attend musicals and go to the theather; all activities that help them grow their culture.

In conclusion, although living in the countryside has its advantages, such as less exposure to criminality and pollution, I believe that living in the city opens more doors for the children´s future because they receive a better school education and have more opportunities to improve their culture.