Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and uses up the world's fuel resources.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that, in order to save the environment, current levels of air travel are to be decreased. I absolutely agree with this position and believe that humanity needs to significantly reduce the number of trips made by planes, but the segment of the population in focus needs to be the affluent members of the society, not the lower class.

It is a well-known fact that air travel produces tremendous amounts of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases, which contribute to global warming and the environmental destruction. According to the research, a trip covering the same distance by plane generates three times more CO2 emissions than traveling by car. The problem is further exacerbated by the increasing number of trips people are taking. If governments are serious about their commitments in conserving the planet, some form of restrictions or levies need to be introduced.

That being said, there are clear economic disparities between the social classes, with rich people flying more frequently than the poor because of these. A lot of the trips of the ultra-wealthy can be even considered unnecessary with the infamous example of Taylor Swift flying a private jet for just 15 minutes. Such short trips produce excessive emissions compared to commercial flights, making the rich a primary target for the air travel restrictions.

To conclude, I strongly believe that reducing air travel is one of the key steps in protecting the environment. However, the affluent parts of the societies should be targeted due to their disproportionate use of planes and private jets.