Some people believe that engaging in an active pastime does more to develop children's life skills than time spent reading. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that children who do something active in their leisure time develop their skills better than children that spend their time reading. This essay totally disagrees with that statement. I believe that reading is an activity that is equally great for children compared to e.g. outdoor activities, because it helps the children to develop their skill to focus on certain things and moreover, children can learn about various relevant topics by reading books.

Nowadays, children and adults face issues with their skill to focus on specific tasks on an equally level. This underscores the importance for children to learn and to develop their skill to focus. By reading a book, children have to concentrate on one task and have to stay focused to understand the content and meaning of the passage they read. Reading can be seen as a perfect exercise to train this important skill. For example, I experienced myself as a child that reading helped me to stay focused and be less distracted in classes at my school. Moreover, I could develop strong reading skills, that helped me to get good grades in German language.

Not only does reading train the skill to focus, but it also offers the opportunity to learn about different subjects. Gaining knowledge on various topics is important for children, as it supports their social development and their academic career. Books can help children to learn important skills and knowledge about general subjects. For instance, when I was child, I read a lot of non-fictional books that helped me to understand how certain things work in our world.

In conclusion, reading can be seen as equally effective as active activities when it comes to the improvement of children’s skill sets. Reading a book supports the development of children’s ability to focus on different tasks and offers a broad range of knowledge that can be learned while reading the book.