Some people believe that governments should have access to people's mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Whether governments should have access to people’s mobile phone records and messages under the claim of safety is a topic of debate, While some people believe this might be advantageous, others seem to think that this information is private and should not be available without permission. In my opinion, i agree with the latter; what people say in their phone calls or messages should be entirely private, unless a person exhibits signs of being a safety concern.

The government having access to mobile phone call records and messages, can add a great amount of safety to the public. People nowadays rely on their mobile phones for almost every task, which means that anything stated out of the ordinary can be caught on the spot and further investigated. This may be utilized to catch any type of bullying or threats very early on and before any damage is done, otherwise it may be extremely hard to keep everyone safe when needed.

On the other hand, some people think of it as an invasion of privacy, where it is seen as a huge demerit. While it would be seen as a precaution, having access to everything on one’s phone, can be viewed as excessive. People value their privacy and will oppose to anything that threathens that privacy. A soultion to that may be to only flag any words that seem threatening and only then an investigation can be lauched, this way not everything that is on person’s phone can be accessed.

To conclude, open access to people’s phone can be a double-edged sword, while it does show significant advantages, it still has a number of disadvantages. In my opinion, governments shouldn’t have complete access over phone, unless prompted to do so.