Some people believe that governments should spend more money on space exploration, while others think this money should be used to help people living in poverty. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Write at least 250 words.

It is thought that governments should be paying more money on exploring space, meanwhile others think this money should be spent on helping the impoverished. This essay strongly agrees with the latter opinion.

First and foremost, exploring space could help us in ways more than we can ever imagine, as in 2002 a space rock was discovered on the moon, this rock helped cure several diseases one of them was cancer, nonetheless as this was a wonderful discovery there is no way to be sure of such successful discoveries on each exploration journey. Some might argue that space exploration has led humanity to understand it’s surroundings better, as this might be true it has not affected our day to day lives.

On the other hand, one of the main arguments in favor of helping the poor, is that helping such people could benefit the country and the government on the long term, as these individuals could become helpful and cooperative members of society, as in 1998 a businessman lost all his money because of a scandal and became homeless, at this time the country had help centers for the impoverished, he stayed there for a couple of years until he got back up on his feet and through connections and experience he regained his wealth and social status. In addition, spending money for human cause is way more important than spending it on any discoveries.

In conclusion, spending money on space travel has brought useful discoveries to humans and helped us to be more aware of our surroundings, however spending that money to help the homeless is more important and has brought better outcomes.