Some people believe that if a child commits a crime he or she should be punished, while others think it is the child's parents who should be punished. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The issue of punishment for juvenile crimes has sparked considerable debate with some advocating that children should be punished for their crimes, whereas others contend that parents should be held accountable. This essay will consider both sides before concluding that both should bear the responsibility to a certain extent depending on the circumstances.

One reason why some people believe that punishing children is an effective solution is that young people can understand their mistakes better when they are punished properly. After learning about the consequences of their actions, they may avoid repeating the same mistake again, which, in turn, can lower the crime rates among young people. Singapore can serve as a pertinent example where punishing juvenile offenders also plays a key role in maintaining low crime rates.

In contrast, opponents of this view believe that parents should be held accountable for their children’s actions. This is largely due to the fact that adults have a pivotal role in children’s upbringing. Neglecting their children or not providing sufficient support can give rise to a range of adverse effects on young people’s behavior, including leading them to commit crimes. Hence, majority of public find parents responsible for these incidents. In several countries such as the UK or France, parents pay fines or face other types of punishment for their children’s offenses.

In my opinion, however, a more appropriate measure would be to share responsibilities between both parents and children. Punishing only one of them seems like an injustice given that they both play their part in committing crimes. Therefore, I personally lean towards the idea of punishing them accordingly based on the crime situation.

In conclusion, although both views present reasonable arguments, the issue remains open to debate. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that punishing both of them depending on the situation is more effective.