Some people believe that it is better to be self-employed than to work for a company. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is an opinion that it is better to be a freelancer rather than working for an institute. I completely disagree with that belief and think that securing a job in a company is the safer option.

Working in the nine-five job scope is better and safer than being self-employed. Many companies are always on the lookout to hire experienced people and as long as a person has enough knowledge and experience, there will always be a monthly income secured for him to live comfortably. Working as a freelancer, on the other hand, could be a struggle as there are some months when you don’t make as much stable revenue as expected and this could put the individual in a tight place financially. For example, being self-employed as a website designer may generate lots of cash in one of the months; however, once the job is done, and no one else is looking for the skill you provide, it would be difficult to keep the money flowing to you.

Another reason why I believe that it is better to work for a company is that you do not require the capital funds to start working. Meaning, after graduating from a college, people usually are in debt and they don’t have enough money to start their own business. For example, a fresh graduate of computer engineering degree, who has to pay his student loans, would first look for an internship to gather the sufficient experience. Despite not getting the desired pay from this internship, this graduate would gain helpful knowledge which aids him to be hired full time in Google, for instance. Conversely, people who are interested in obtaining a passive income and being an entrepreneur would most likely have to pay a tremendous amount of money to start with their idea and with hope, which might not be true for everyone, that they can become financially independent.

To conclude, I believe that working for a company rather than being a self-employed is a convenient way and has much more stability in earning continuously. Additionally, no initial funds are required to start the career.