"Some people believe that physical education is as important as academic subjects in educational institutions, while others think it should be optional. Discuss both views and give your opinion."

There are differing views if physical education should be given equal status as other academic subjects in a school, or if it can be an optional part of a child’s education. Both sides present valid arguments, and reflect different priorities in the educational process and journey.

On behalf of physical education proponents, it teaches the merits of a healthy lifestyle and essential life lessons. Lowing the barriers of serious health issues like obesity, heart disease, and other conditions is important, decreased physical activity has dramatically changed the health of both children and adults. Teamwork, discipline and perseverance are all examples of lifelong characteristics associated with sports and exercise that the practical aspect of physical education can create more steadfast learning and importance to the student, especially in their lives outside of school. Physical education also provides an important mental reprieve from the academic stress, in the end giving students more energy and focus when returning to the classroom. While physical education may seem more fun and recreational, it in fact has an enormous impact on student mental health and emotional well-being.

On the other side, some argue that physical education should be optional entirely, especially for students who do not like or enjoy physical education. Physical education could lead to negative feelings associated with the school, particularly as a person who prefers academic pursuits. For example, if a student is preparing for a competitive exam, they may feel they need to sacrifice that time to studying instead of physical education.