Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Some others say they should be free to work what country they need to work

Many people believe that it should be obligatory for professionals in careers such as healthcare or engineering to work in their home country while others argue that they should have the free will to choose to work in any place in the world. From my perspective, despite the fact that having a job overseas can offer a plethora of benefits, I believe that it is still of utmost importance for highly intellectual individuals to work in their motherland.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that international employment can be a sensible decision for one’s career path as different countries offer more diverse work environments. This can not only allow professionals to choose a place that is suitable for their interests or needs but also bring about many opportunities for knowledge exchange between different cultures. In fact, this massive advantage in knowledge development has led to many developing countries to send their professionals from many fields such as education, engineering, technology, astronomy, e.g. to other places in the world to cultivate skills and learn from other cultures. For example, in Vietnam there is a programme for Vietnamese teachers to study in Australia for half a month in order to apply the Australian ways of teaching to the Vietnamese education systems. With that, it is clear that working abroad is highly advantageous for one’s career growth.

On the other hand, the opinion that professionals ought to remain in their country of training is not so unreasonable. Training and education can be exorbitant and require significant resources. Many countries have to invest an immense amount of funds in order to finance their professionals’ training and thus if these highly skilled individuals decide to serve for another nation, it can result in a great loss for the country that trains them. It may not only lead to a financial loss but also a huge shortage of experienced workers in these essential fields, which directly cause difficulties in future development for the home country. Due to that reason, although international employment can be greatly valuable, it should only be done to an extent. The optimal decision would be giving experts opportunities to work in other countries for a fixed period and apply their knowledge that they have learnt to contribute to their home country’s development. In that way, professionals can be exposed to different cultures and cultivate their skills while still being able to play a great role in the growth of their home nation.