Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Disagreement prevails regarding the question of weather homework should be assigned to students or they should be given some freedom after the lessons finish. While my perspective aligns with the belief that home tasks are essential part of students’ academic and mental development, the negative impact of loading students with excess activities should not be underestimated.

Those in favor of homework rightly contend that homework can be beneficial in terms of assessing students’ work and performance outside the classroom. As for example, it is not easy enough to evaluate all the students within the limited period of time a lesson offers. In this case, homework comes in handy for the teachers to learn about the student’s individual performance without guidance. This may also help teachers to comprehend to what extend students have understood the material taught during the lesson. Another compelling perspective maintains that activities assigned to be done at home may help students to bolster their soft skills such as time management, problem solving, creative thinking, networking, etc. Moreover, extra curricular activities like project work may boost students’ skills and abilities like teamwork, leadership, browsing, researching and so on, which can be beneficial in their future academic as well as professional lives.

On the other hand, I am also inclined to believe that excess homework can make students to lose their interests or motivation, as there can be some other activities they want to be engaged in aside the educational curriculum like listening to the music, watching favorite TV shows, drawing, etc. Furthermore, it is also true that too much homework is a ground for extra stress and anxiety. Some students may even develop depression as a result of tough schedule and never- ending tasks. Another persuasive belief is that instead of doing assignments privately, students may seek help of other people, as for example, of their elder siblings, parents or acquaintances nimble in the particular subject. Additional, it is also possible for them to use some applications, which offer solutions for math problems, or some other software working with AI or chat GPT.

To sum up, opinions may vary among different segments of the society on the debate surrounding whether school children should be provided with homework by their teachers or not. Despite the diversity of viewpoints, I am inclined to side with both fractions, as my thorough examination of the evidence leads me to believe that overall moderate homework may boost children’s personal and educational development in case of better choice and support by instructors.