Some people believe that the academic success of students depends on good teachers at schools. Others think that it depends on the attitude and determination of the students. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people consider that teachers are responsible for giving students good results in academic sphere, while others think that educational success depends on students themselves. I believe that your personal skills and abilities define whether you are capable of being successful or not.

First and foremost, while studying, students see and listen to the person who teaches them the subject where has a degree in. In this case, the academic life of students depends on the tutor. Therefore, if this teacher bought this degree, he would give irrelevant and wrong explanations related to the topic. For instance, my friend John, who was learning basics of physics abroad, said that his teacher wasn’t even able to write a single formula and solve an equation. As a result, John didn’t catch the main idea of the paragraph and decided to take some extracurriculars after classes and it helped. The quality of his teacher was not enough to make all the students understand him clearly. Thus, regardless of the skills you have learned before, there are really little chances to obtain new knowledge from an unprofessional teacher.

However, if we look at this case from a different angle, John had a good will power to find the solution to his problem. Not having enough explanations encourages people to search for additional information. It leads to learning more about specific topic and consequently, having high grades at a university. Nevertheless, relying only on personal qualities can be quite difficult in terms of studying. People tend to be lazy and have no motivation to work on anything. For some people, it is necessary to have somebody to control them and check for their mistakes, while others prefer to have extra classes alone.

In conclusion, personal attitude to the learning process influences the academic life of every student. Although teachers are partly responsible for students’ success in the future, I believe that personal commitment plays a vital role in getting tertiary education.