Some people believe that the biggest problem facing cities is the increasing number of cars. Others say there more serious problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that the major issue nowadays with growing urbanization is traffic congestion, while others contend that there are more pressing problems to address. In my opinion, I agree with the latter viewpoint. Although traffic is undoubtedly a significant concern, issues like industrialization and deforestation should be prioritized due to their far-reaching consequences.

The primary reason that traffic jams are considered the biggest problem by many people is that they could degrade the quality of life. The prolonged waiting hours while commuting to and from work can lead to heightened stress levels, headaches and frustration. In addition, car exhaust fumes exacerbate air pollution which poses several health risks.

However, growing industrialization is the major issue as the combustion of fossil fuels releases all types of toxic gases such as carbon monoxide and nitrogen dioxide into the environment. This could result in a high Air Quality Index (AQI), causing respiratory and other chronic illnesses. Not only that some aquatic species are on the verge of extinction due to the harmful substances that have been thrown in the water bodies in the past few years. A further major issue is cutting down trees in order to accommodate the exponential rise in population by constructing new residential or commercial buildings without considering its long-term effects on environmental degradation. There has been an increase in the number of natural disasters such as tsunamis, and floods mainly due to the ecological disturbance created by deforestation.

In conclusion, despite all the consequences caused by the increased number of vehicles, I believe that ecosystem imbalance and the negative impact on people’s well-being due to pollution should be prioritized.