Some people believe that the experiences children have before they go to school will have the greatest effect on their future life. Others argue that experiences gained when they are teenagers have a bigger influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

It is thought by some that pre-school experiences affect a child’s future life to a greater extent, whereas others suggest that events taking place during teenage years are more important. It is my opinion that both types of experiences are crucial for a person’s future development.

According to many psychological theories, a person’s character is shaped by their earliest experiences, despite the fact that most of those experiences are not remembered on the conscious level. During the first months of life, a human being has to learn to handle their emotions arising from their interactions with the world, and that is how basic personality characteristics are shaped. For example, an infant whose mother is distant and cold is more likely to develop anxiety, which can become a life-long condition. That, in turn, will lead to the emergence of certain personal characteristics, such as being more introverted than average. Thus, individuals become what they are without ever realizing what made them this or that way.

On the other hand, teenage memories are normally rather distinct and can be responsible for such aspects as social skills, self-image, sense of responsibility. School years are not only spent learning various subjects; this is also the time when a young person is exposed to peer pressure and experiences what it is like to have tasks that must be performed on time. The mindset acquired during the school years can be hard to change later on in life, especially because it was consciously learned. For example, former straight-A students normally become conscientious, meticulous employees. On the other hand, it can be really difficult to overcome the effects of school bullying even at an older age.

To conclude, early experiences may shape a person’s unconscious and play an important role in their character development, but teenage years also leave a significant impression and can affect one’s personality on a more conscious level. Therefore, I believe that both types of experiences are equally important developmental factors.