Some people believe that the government should take care of old people and provide financial support after they retire. Others say individuals should save during their working years to fund their own retirement. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate whether the responsibility of providing care and financial support for senior citizens should be the responsibility of the government or it is their own responsibility. I believe that the latter approach is better in the current economy.

Elderly people often rely on governmental support because ageing is commonly accompanied with disease that limits them to work on full range. With years, elderly people often gain medical problems that require constant medical insurance and care. Diseases such as Alzheimer’s or cardiac problems may limit them from working full-time or play a crucial role on their cognitive abilities. From this perspective, it is logical why the government should provide support to those who are physically or mentally vulnerable.

However, others believe that this is each individual’s responsibility to take care and make savings in terms of the global demographic crisis. In many countries, the proportion of elderly people grows while the number of work-age citizens is declining, which places significant strain on public welfare systems. As most developed countries already face budget shortages, the fewer taxpayers are expected to support the rapidly aging population causing a financial strain. In my view, encouraging people to save money in advance may decrease the excessive economic burdens that rely on the young population.

In conclusion, while inability to work may be the case for governmental support, I believe that each person should take care of themself in advance due to the inability of the government to support everyone in terms of the demographic crisis.