Some people believe that the internet has brought people closer together, while others think that it has isolated them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While it is argued that the internet has connected people more closely, others are in favor of thinking that the internet gets relationships among people isolated. From my perspective, both views can be justified; however, I am more inclined to the former.

On the one hand, there are compelling reasons why some people advocate that the internet makes people connective. Firstly, the internet allows people to have remote communication. In light of technological advancements with readily available variety of applications, internet users can interact with other individuals through social media, such as instagram or facebook instead of writing mails or going to telephone stations, which takes a long time for delivery. Secondly, the internet significantly helps people gain information and also spread it around the world as quickly as possible. For example, in Covid-19 era, most information in terms of the disease was announced through media platforms, which means that not only could individuals access announcements more quickly, but also the risks of the disease raised awareness of fighting the epidemic together. For these reasons, I believe that the internet reinforces people’s bonds.

On the other hand, there remain some reasons that people have been isolated by the internet. The first rationale is that the internet makes some individuals disconnected with some close relationships such as family. This is because they mostly focus on social media or games online, which creates distance among people. Moreover, people are depended on the internet. This means that they cannot live without such a technological tool, whether going outside or not, people always try to find the wifi to connect, which makes some people who have not used the internet isolated and forces them to start using to connect with others. Therefore, the more internet users have, the more isolated individuals are. For these reasons, I believe that the internet causes people to set apart.

In conclusion, there is an ongoing debate whether the internet makes some individuals left out or connect them more closely. In this case, I personally believe that the internet has both advantages and disadvantages for users.