Some people believe that university students should pay all the cost of studies because university education only benefit the students themselves not the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that university students ought to afford all their study tuition fees as high-education is solely benenificial for themselves instead of the whole society. Personally, I disagree with this statement.

On the one hand, it is obvious that students can gain many skills in the university environment, which opens more career opportunities for them in their career path. For example, they are more likely to get a well-paid job when they have a high-educational qualification and knowledge. This is the reason why some individuals believe that attending university offers benefits to students.

However, I suppose that this also contributes significantly to the betterment of society. This is because university-level people are the abundant and high-quality human resources. Since they have gone through professional and in-depth training, they have more enhanced knowledge and expertise in jobs. Consequently, they are the great contributors to the growth of society and economy. This is illustrated by developed countries, such as Japan, which have a great economy due to a large number of high-educational workers.

Therefore, I believe that the government should have aids to ease the financial burdens of study costs on students. The reason is that there are many poor students, who are not able to afford the high tuition fees of university. As a result, they miss out on important opportunities to enhance their knowledge and skills. For example, many German universities free the cost of studies for national as well as international students in order to provide learning chances to all students, regardless of their financial background.

In conclusion, despite the advantages that students can gain by university education, I disagree that it does not benefit the whole society. Therefore, the government ought to offer several financial aids to help unfortunate students have university studying opportunities.