Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In this rapid growing world, human values are generally overlooked by individuals. In the midst of this worrying trend, some people think it is crucial to mandatory community services in learning institutions. This essay will throw light on some compelling arguments supporting this notion.

To commence, there are numerous reasons why social services should be conducted in schools. Firstly, Volunteering teaches people to empathize with others. To elaborate, it can be a golden opportunity for students for developing a mind set of helping others. When children are taught to be kind, sympathetic and lead a hand to other people whenever they are in need, this can mitigate discrimination, and ego from their minds. For instance, a recent survey from BBC concluded that schools which conduct social activities have 50% less bulling rate than those which do not. Secondly, a sense of responsibly is possessed, raising the awareness of various ongoing problems of the world such as deforestation, excessive use of fossil fuels and many more.

On the other hand, introducing community services can be a little struggle for students, as they already have a number of subjects to study. However, with a good study plan and positive mindset, undergraduates can easily balance these two things. For example, an hour of social activities after school does not have significantly affect the study timetable of children.

To sum up, engaging learners in social service benefits them as it creates awareness toward current situations, kind attitude towards needy people.