Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many individuals believe that humans gain nothing valuable from history, while others assert that what happened in the past can bring precious sources of information. From my perspective, I strongly agree with the latter view. This essay will discuss both sides before reaching the final conclusion.

On the one hand, learning from the past is pointless for several individuals to some extent. Firstly, history is rarely used in modern life. Owing to the rapid advancement of science and technology, developing innovative machines or medical treatments can be more beneficial than researching historical records that happened in the past. It is apparent that, in such cases, history yields no significant benefits to the present or future, and people primarily focus on aspects that bring practical implications. Secondly, several sources of information in the past can be unreliable. In other words, some historical events are interpreted differently and the criticism of these events is diverse. Therefore, there is no guarantee of the accuracy of the information obtained.

On the other hand, the pivotal role of history in imparting people valuable lessons is indisputable. To begin with, comprehending history can prevent humans from making similar mistakes that occurred in the past. It can be explained that cutting-edge technologies in the modern era have enhanced and evolved from the failure of the past. Hence, past occurrences still provide valuable lessons for the development of humans. Furthermore, history can help individuals instill moral standards inspired by the prior generations. To illustrate, via learning about history, people especially the youth can have thorough insights into their culture and how their nations have evolved. For instance, the Vietnamese Revolution, which fostered a sense of national pride and patriotism in people’s hearts. This is because the descendants may have an understanding of how their ancestors must have sacrificed to maintain freedom throughout history.

In the final analysis, even though studying from the past is impractical for several reasons, it also reveals avoidable mistakes and evokes precious qualities.