Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is thought by many that the knowledge we gain from studying history will not benefit us in the our present of future life, while other people think that history can provide us with useful information. I agree with the latter viewpoint as I believe history can teach us many valuable lessons.

On the one hand, some people view history as an unbeneficial subject to learn about due to the huge differences between our present life and past life. The technological developments that occured in the last century made our life extremely advanced and modernised, which makes it difficult for us to use past events to guide us in our lives. For instance, we do not derive practical benefits by studying how people communicated in the past using telegraph or letters as we already have more advanced ways, such as mobile phones, to connect with others. Therefore, the supporters of this view believe that focusing

On the other hand, some people believe that historical events can pass important information to us. This can be seen while delving into the past events of one’s country and learning about the struggles that our nation had to overcome, which in turn, enhances our devotion to our countries. For instance, when nations in free countries learn how their fellow citizens fought against occupations in the past and succeeded in freeing their land, they will feel a renewed sense of pride and love for their homeland, developing a deeper connection with their national identity.

In my opinion, history provides us with invaluable data to handle our current issues. For instance, one of the ways to solve global recession is looking into the similar economic issues with the history of our world. By analysing how previous governments dealth with such problems and understanding the causes behind them, we can begin crafting more solid solutions for our current issues. Therefore, I believe history is offers a precious pool of data that we can utilise in our lives.

In conclusion, while many think that studying history id of no benefit for our lives, others feel it can foster a deeper sense of pride in citize