Some people believe that young people should choose the jobs that they want, but other people think they should be more realistic and think more about their future.

Handful of people hold the view that young adults should pursue careers in a field that they’re passionate about. Yet, there are those of a more pragmatic disposition who argue that one’s future well-being should come before short-lived dreams. In this essay, I shall explore both perspectives and offer my personal view on the matter as a member of young generation.

I am convinced that following one’s passion can lead to personal fulfillment and sense of purpose. Passion is the driving force or fuel that keeps people motivated and dedicated to their work, resulting in innovation and success in their chosen field. When individuals sincerely care about what they do, they are more likely to excel, which can contribute to job satisfaction and a fulfilling life. As an illustration, pursuing a career aligned with one’s true desire can give a deeper sense of meaning, turning work into something more meaningful rather than merely a pile of chore or routine task, which makes it appear to be a profession of one’s own interest. As the visionary Steve Jobs once remarked, engaging in work that resonates with true heart’s desire will eventually bring lasting joy in life, as if such a calling has not yet revealed itself, one must persist in the search, for settling should never be an option, and a reminder that true fulfillment is worth the journey.

However, while following one’s passion may indeed lead to personal fulfillment, it is wise to make practical choices with their long-term prospects in mind, particularly in terms of job stability and financial security. Numerous areas that one’s favor might not offer consistent opportunities, making it difficult to sustain a stable livelihood. In contrast, choosing a profession with clear growth, promising prospects and stability, even if it is less aligned with what one’s wished for, may provide a stronger foundation for the long run. For example, pursuing careers in entertainment industries, while seeming glamorous, often face uncertainty of whether they will ever debut or gain popularity. This could result in unpredictable income, employment uncertainty and even depression. Therefore, striking a delicate balance between passion and practicality ensures that individuals are both fulfilled and secure in their future careers.

Based on my personal point of view, choosing practicality over passion was more than a choice, but a need. I didn’t have enough resources to chase my ambitions indefinitely, so I made a choice to pursue a more stable job. There are days when I wonder what might have happened if I had pursued a life of auditions and abandoned my studies would have led me to stardom, when I question if my potential has gone wasted. But when I step back, actually my skills remain intact and perhaps one day I will be able to pursue it in a different form as a side venture while still maintaining my nine-to-five profits. When I was younger, I felt that pursuing my dream was the only thing that I wanted. Now, I realized that there are plenty of variables that matter like financial independence, steady living and a decent salary. It is very likely most of us will not fulfill the same passion we had when we were 17 because it always evolves, so do priorities. This experience has taught me first hand that life is not simply about following one’s heart, but I suppose we’re all just trying to search for a meaningful life whether it is through passion or practicality. Ultimately, it is important to recognize that by choosing practicality today does not mean closing the door for your dream, instead it is about making wise decisions that leave room for both.