Some people believe that young people should choose the jobs that they want, but other people think they should be more realistic and think more about their future.

Some people say that it is better to choose a career path based on one’s personal preferences, while others think a job should be chosen in a more pragmatic way. While setting realistic goals seems to be an efficient and safe approach, I believe, it is better to follow your dreams when choosing a future career.

It is true that staying realistic and setting well-weighed goals usually leads to more predictable and steady results. Being aware of and guided by the real market needs, a young individual can obtain a university degree and find a job in the field where specialists are needed. Thus, one access a chance to find a good job outside a highly competitive environment, earn a descent living and feel professionally and personally accomplished. For example, for long years IT specialists were in high demand all over the globe, and many young people who chose to do a degree in IT and started working in this field have built a successful career and enjoy a well-paid job. This was made possible by their pragmatic and realistic approach to the question.

On the other hand, young people who are inspired by their dream and choose to follow their dream career-wise, are more likely to reach professional accomplishment and contribute to the economic growth or social development of their country. This can be explained by their passion and incredible motivation for the job they choose. Young people following their dreams invest a lot of their time and energy into their chosen career and make positive changes. For example, the first astronaut Yuri Gagarin whose major passion was Space, devoted all his life to it, and became the first person in Space. It was made possible due to his commitment and dedication.

In my opinion, young people should make a career choice based on their dreams and desires, because such choice is more likely to lead to a significant social contribution. What’s more, people feel more accomplished and satisfied when they choose a career path relying on their personal preferences.

To conclude, while it is true that a career choice based on realistic reasons is more likely to bring in better job opportunities and steady income, I believe, that an individual obtains a great chance to make a significant positive change in the society and achieve professional accomplishment, when choosing their dream job.