Some people believe that zoos where animals are kept in a man-made environment should no longer exist in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that zoos where creatures are contained in artificial enclosures should be banned in this century. This essay totally agrees with this statement because it is cruel to keep an animal in a confined space and nature programs allow us to view animals without the need for a zoo.

The first reason that animals should not be kept in artificial enclosures is that it is inherently cruel. That is to say that as human beings, we are intelligent enough to know that the animal is suffering and if we decide to do it anyway; we are causing unneeded pain and discomfort. For example, Sea World in California recently admitted that their whales were depressed and not in optimal health because they can’t swim in the ocean, but decided to keep them in the park because they were a big attraction.

The second main reason is that high-quality documentaries remove our need to see animals in captivity. This is because TVs have such high-quality screens, and broadcasters are now able to offer us a very intimate glimpse of animals in their natural habitats. Thus, we can get a better insight into the lives of wild animals by staying at home.

For instance, the BBC recently produced a series called Life in the Undergrowth which allowed us to understand the lives of insects in stunning high definition.