Some people believe that zoos where animals are kept in a man-made environment should no longer exist in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that, in the contemporary world, artificial environments to keep an animal confined in a certain area should not exist anymore. I completely disagree with the notion that zoos are no longer needed in this century.

There are a number of reasons why zoos are needed. Firstly, zoos are a source where animals can be conserved. Nowadays, a number of wild animals are in danger, and the conservation process allows animals to repopulate their numbers. Zoos provide animals with adequate foods, treatments, and safety’s from predators, which is playing an important role in keeping our endangered animals safe for the long term.

In addition, to ensure a healthy wildlife, we need to research animal habitats properly. As well as it is not possible to investigate properly for a man in wildlife as there is a lack of safety for an investigator. In that sense, zoos ensure us this opportunity to study an animal more closely. There are a lot of animals who die in wild environments from a simple injury, just because of not getting immediate treatment. So, definitely, we should not think to free an animal that is about to become extinct. And that is another important reason that we still keep zoos around us. Despite knowing that it is immoral to confine an animal in a tiny place, we can redesign the facilities for animals so that they can be secured in zoos with more freedom.

In conclusion, after discussing the above factors, we cannot say that there is no importance of zoos around us any longer.