Some people believe that zoos where animals are kept in a man-made environment should no longer exist in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that zoos where creatures are contained in artificial enclosures should be banned in this century. This essay totally agrees with this statement because it is cruel to keep an animal in a confined space, and nature programs allow us to view animals without the need for a zoo.

The first reason is that keeping animals in man-mad environments is cruel in many cases. Not every zoo is able to recreate the size or the typical conditions of a natural habitat for every creature. That leads to health issues and suffering for those, who live in inappropriate conditions. For example, polar bears’ bodys are designed for cold environments, but in a typical zoo they live in spaces with room temprature. Constant overheating disrupts their natural cycles and causes multiple diseases. It’s absolutely cruel, and nobody should be treated this way.

The second reason is that TV shows and documentaries allow us to view species outside zoos. Modern cameras can capture animals in their natural habitat and allow us to film creatures from a far distance without any interaction. As a result, not only species themselves can be seen outside a zoo, but their natural behavior can be observed as well. For example, recent BBC documentary about eagels shows them in their natural area of living in great detail and in high resolution. Seeing the same eagles in a cage would be far less informative, which highlights redundancy of man-made zoos.

In conclusion, zoos should no longer exist because it’s barbaric to lock animals in confined spaces, and species could be observed in their natural habitats with the help of documentaries and TV shows about nature.