Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while others would argue that rehabilitation is its primary role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although some think that prisons are ultimately places for rehabilitating criminals because those confinements give opportunity for introspection, others think that the purpose of a prison is to punish crime offenders. I agree with the latter because the prison environment just is not compatible for rehabilitation. Moreover, criminals who are sentenced to prison until death will not benefit from any self reflection.

On the one hand, it is possible for a convict to reflect on his or her actions while serving their time. Prisons themselves are traumatic places where severe bullying happens. This kind of environment is likely to motivate them to not commit anymore crimes once they are free. For example, prisoners have to deal with other inmates and gangs while they are locked up, which for the most part is not a good experience. Hence, when they are free, they most likely will not want to go back to such horrible place anymore.

On the other hand, I agree with the opinion that the chief purpose of a prison is to condemn those offenders for their crime. It is a community of people alike, therefore rehabilitation is unlikely to happen. For instance, murderers and drug dealers will live with similar crime offenders. Furthermore, for people who are convicted with death sentences, rehabilitation and self introspection is unnecessary.

In conclusion, while the idea of prisons as rehabilitation facilities is reasonable, I believe that condemnation is the main purpose of them because prisoners cannot self reflect while being surrounded with other prisoners.