Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while others would argue that rehabilitation is its primary role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although many think that punishment is the only function of jail, some people believe that the main role of it is rehabilitating the prisoners before bringing them back to the society. I agree with view 2 because in fact, many prisons provide numerous skills-training activities to equip the inmates with skills that might help them survive the after-prison life and I have witnessed a former inmate who now successfully runs his own restaurant with the knowledge he gained from the training behind the bars.

On the one hand, prison holds responsibility to punish the people who do crimes. This punishment often acts as an ultimate remedy for them and for certain cases, such as rap and killings, the people who commit the actions could receive longer imprisonment duration; some might be given a life sentence.

On the other hand, the rehabilitation function of a jail cannot be overlooked. Despite its punishing role, it is also a place to rehabilitate the inmates in order to prepare them for the life outside the bars.

In conclusion, the role of a prison is to punish but the their rehabilitation function cannot be overlooked.