Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while others would argue that rehabilitation is its primary role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many are of the opinion that the punishment is the purpose of prisons, while others contend that they should exist for rehabilitation. This essay aims to discuss the logic behind both viewpoints, and then presents why I am more inclined towards the latter.

On the one hand, those who are in favor of the view that punishment is the most important purpose of prisons have their own reasoning. One of the most convincing is that criminals should face the consequences of their crimes that they caused. A good illustration for this is that serious criminals who are a serious danger to society, sell drugs, and kill people. About punishing them, they will have to be responsible for many of their crimes and they are also going to undergo the victim’s sentiment when they did wrong things for them. This might lead to their behaviors having more confidence to change when they can be self aware of the problem that they did in the past. This helps them become a better version of themselves when they complete their punishment.

On the other hand, the belief that the main purpose of prisons should exist for rehabilitation is also comprehensible. A case in point is that prisons provide criminals with more opportunities to change their behaviors, reintegration into the community. For example, prisons offer them more chances to develop their own skills that help them earn a stable job and improve their confidence behaviors right after they complete their punishment and have a better life.

In conclusion, both views have their own rationales. However, on balance, I side with the view that prisons should be the primary purpose of prisons because it is not only improving their behaviors better, but also helping them have a stable job in the future.