Some people believe universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, the debate over gender equality in education is really controversial. While some people believe that every subject in universities should include equal numbers of male and female students, I partially agree with this viewpoint due to some certain reasons.

On the one hand, it is understandable why many individuals ask for gender equality in the number of students in every subjects. Both genders will have more opportunities to pursue their dream when universities increase the admission numbers of every major. To illustrate, when universities provide more slots for female students in technical majors which are usually aligned with man, it will enable female students, especially those having a passion for technical fields, to study about technique. As a result, a more equal number of engineers between man and women may thrive, creating gender balance in the workforce.

On the other hand, I believe that there are some certain subjects not suitable for both genders. Firstly, it is impossible for every university or education institution to completely balance the number of male and female students in all subjects. Because higher education tend to put quality over quantity, the number of men or women in every lectures is mostly relied on the academic performances of them. Secondly, some subjects require specific qualifications, so the admission numbers between men and women may be different. For instance, most manual jobs will require relevant strength and endurance, which men generally have better than women, If universities admit the same number of male and female students in these majors, the work quality in manual fields then may not be ensured.

In conclusion, I believe that gender equality should be considered in the education system and every students should be treated equally and given equal opportunities to study their favourite subjects. However, merit-based admission should be the most important element in education, not the gender of students. Ensuring an equal number in every subject is impossible, and some majors because of having a few particular characteristics will have gender-based admission.