Some people claim that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. While others think that they can establish a minority community instead.Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is argued that foreigners should accept the customs and traditions of the country they are residing in. However, some people believe that it would be better if they constructed a separate community. I firmly believe that other nationalities should try to immerse themselves among natives to feel more at home.

On the one hand, a sector of people think that belonging to a separate group would enable foreginers to remain linked to their origins. They think that restricting their daily interactions to people from their nationality would keep their way of life unchanged. Moreover, they believe that it would grant them a safe space to practice whatever they believe in. For example, Muslims who travel abroad usually form small groups in mosques to pray and have conversations related to religion. However, I do not agree with this position because some countries allow their residents to practice their traditions freely without any restrictions.

On the other hand, some people agree that the integration of foreigners in society will ease their feeling of loneliness. They believe that when non-natives engage with local people, they will naturally make new friends that can act later on as a replacement of the their families. Consequently, they will not feel alone, and it will reduce their chances of depression. Recently, a study has been conducted on the risk factors of depression, and it was found that loneliness was one of the major predisposing factors.

In conclusion, although beloning to a minor group can keep strong ties to immigrants’ backgrounds, I adopt the view that engaging with the society they are currently living in increases their chance of happiness, and is better for their mental wellbeing.