Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will no longer be necessary because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree?

There is currently a contentious argument advocating that historical and artisic displays for the general public are predicted to disappear due to the proliferation of artwork and artefacts on the Internet. I strongly disagree with this notion since these places play an indispensable part in promoting tourism and encouraging social connections.

The first reason why I advocate for the preservation of museums and art galleries is because they are valuable assets to the tourism industry. More specifically, these places are tangible evidence of a country’s past and national identity; hence, numerous tourists consider including them on their to-do lists to explore cultural and historical values in person. Compared to static pictures and videos of artwork on the Internet, visitors can sense the sacred atmosphere generated by an institution housing historical artefacts and grasp a deeper understanding of past events through the guide’s narration. For example, the historic Hoa Lo prison in Hanoi has attracted a substantial number of tourists since it vividly demonstrates the plight of Vietnamese prisoners in the war with the French, leading to increased tourism revenue.

Another justification for why I do not believe that the existence of culturally and historically significant places will become obsolete is that they enhance genuine social interactions. By observing artistic creations and invaluable artefacts directly, people would likely have more chances to initiate conversations with those present who have the same interest and exchange their opinions on pieces of artwork. As a result, their relationships can be strengthened, paying the way for greater bonds in their lives. By contrast, viewing images of artwork only generates an isolated experience behind the screen.

In conclusion, I am completely against the redundancy of museums and art galleries since it causes substantial losses to the tourism industry and deprives people of social connections. It is advisable that the government should implement some measures to preserve these places to maintain their historical and social values.