Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will no longer be necessary because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree?

Several individuals contest the necessity of art and history displays due to the ability to observe the objects online. I disagree with this opinion as museums and galleries play an imperative role in boosting the economy and preserving the cultures of the nations.

First and foremost, cultural exhibitions account for the prosperity of a country’s economy. The displays have a huge impact on tourism as international visitors are attracted to the unique characteristics of the nation’s culture. A large number of tourists travel to a country so as to satisfy their passion of exploring the diversity of cultures and history all around the world. The revenue generated can be used as a fund to not only maintain the historical and artistic objects but also improve the quality in different fields. For example, a village in China has recovered from economical crisis after promoting their collections of specialities to national and international people. Moreover, cultural exhibitions provide the local dwellers with a wide range of employments. They do not only popularise the art works through the photos on the internet, which run the risk of being forgotten in the future, but they also encourage the domestic artisans to continue with their careers as the museums will collect and introduce the products to others.

Second of all, art and history displays help preserve the cultures of the countries. The national residents and the international tourists will be able to understand the cultural values of a nation by observing the historical objects in person. Without the existence of museums or galleries, the future generations are only able to learn about the past through vulnerably intangible links such as photos or books. Therefore, exhibitions are needed in order to foster a better understanding and knowledge of people about their countries or other areas in the world. In Vietnam, students often go to the museums to study history as the education system believes they will be able to acquire in more information through this activity.

In conclusion, I disagree with the statement as I believe the public museums and art galleries play an important role in developing a nation’s economy and bring to people a better grasp of the cultures.