Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

It is often believed that boarding schools are superior option over day schools. There are contradicting viewpoints on this, and the essay would analyse both, followed by my concluding view.

On the one hand, proponents of boarding school cite the numerous benefits that students get through joining these schools such as immersive learning experience that makes them independent. For instance, they become capable of doing day-to-day activities on their own without a need for a guardian. Furthermore, they get to know about teamwork as they engage in numerous tasks everyday that make them capable of living in a group. These range from having meals together to studying in a cohort. These benefits seem to be convincing to this group of people.

By contrast, loneliness is a major drawback that others argue about boarding schools, meaning that children feel stressed due to lack of support at a young age. Some research shows that about 70% of youth undergoes mental heath issues when they are sent to such schools. Apart from this, a major gap that children create between themselves, and their parents is what makes this option unattractive. These youngsters might lack a sense of affection towards their guardians when they grow up as they will spend majority of their lives staying away from home. These drawbacks are also a powerful reason for why some do not consider this option

In summary, independence and teamwork is what makes boarding schools a suitable option for children, however, lessened mental health and gap from parents are considered its downfalls. It seems advisable that it depends on the circumstances as to why the child is sent to such schools, and according to me it can be a pristine option for those parents who want their child open to learning and want them to grow in their future.