Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary societal landscape, there is a segment of individuals that are continuously deliberating whether the manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods or the customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. These views have positive and negative impacts on the environment and they require a thorough explanation.

Proponents of the provided statement believe that businesses are solely responsible for reducing the packaging material. They have manifold reasons backing up their theory. Firstly, businesses have immense control on each of the process during manufacturing, which implies extensive control over packaging. This makes the big organizations responsible for it, in the eyes of general public. Secondly, it is a crucial part of companies CSR (Cooperate Social Responsibility), since dearth in packaging material will ensure cleaner environment by reducing landfills and improper disposer of packaging material. Lastly, resources are already very limited for every human being on this universe, which creates obligation for the manufacturers to ensure optimal utilization of resources and preservation of the social ecosystem.

Opponets of the given notion, believe customers are equally responsible and they should avoid buying products, which involves a plethora of packaging. They abide by the simple principle of demand and supply. Accordingly, intensifies on avoiding these products, so that manufacturers have no choice other than stopping the overuse of packaging material. For example, if a consumer opt for individual oranges instead of buying a bag, it will relay a message to supermarkets that using a bag for putting four oranges together is just a waste and will promote sustainability. Moreover, change start at a ground level, so if there is a change needed for the packaging of goods, participation of the end customers is very important.

In conclusion, it is imperative that packaging process of goods require a complete makeover and it can only be achieved if transitions are promoted both at ground level and upper level. Big organization need to work on cutting down there packaging material and similarly, the society should rely on substitutes instead of choosing overly packed goods.