Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there is a discussion between two groups of people about who is responsible for reducing the amounts of packaging. The first group believes that the manufacturers and supermarkets are the ones who should be blamed for that, and other group thinks that it is the responsibility of buyers. For some reasons, I am an advocate for the first group.

On the one hand, manufacturers and supermarkets are responsible for decreasing the use of packaging of products, because of some factors. Firstly, as the products are packed and prepared in factories where they are made, if governments and societies want to reduce the amounts of goods’ packaging, it should be started from the point where they are made, as it will be much easier than controling people’s choice. Otherwise, it would be hard for authorities to control the consumers’ buying habits and encourage them to avoid using those products. When this happens, not only will customers have fewer choices to buy well-packaged goods, but also they will be encouraged to change their buying habits. In addition, if the process of reducing the amount of packaged goods starts from factories, it will probably will be more economical for producers, as well as for consumers. becuase of the fact that in this way, producers have to spend less money for packaging their products from the starting point, compared to the other mentioned method.

However, customers should take their responsibility on buying goods with a lot of packaging. Primarily, it is almost impossible for governments to avoid all of the manufacturers and supermarkets of selling packaged goods. As a result, consumers should be aware of their responsibility in this matter, and they should avoid buying packaged products damaging our environment.

In conclusion, despite the responsibilities of customers for being aware of the environmental effects that buying packaged goods can bring for their nation, because of the cheaper and easier way of reducing the amount of packaged products by controlling them from factories, in my opinion, it is the responsibility of the manufacturers and supermarkets to reduce those goods.