Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is ongoing and controversial debate among people about who is responsible for reducing the use of packaging of goods. On one side, some critics strongly believe that it is the responsibility of manufacturers and supermarkets since they produce these products; on the other side, others robustly argue that customers are primarily responsible for contracting excessive use of packaging because if there is no demand, there is no supply. In this essay, I am going to evaluate both sides to decide which approach is more desirable and useful.

On the one hand, some individuals noticeably attack manufacturers and supermarkets, accusing them of increasing packaging. These people consider the role of manufacturers more important than that of consumers since they believe that companies are producing goods and, to increase sales, these firms are significantly investing in packaging to attract audiences. Besides, these types of companies not only do not care about the environment but also do not regard themselves as responsible for encouraging people to use recycled materials and packaging. Consequently, proponents of this theory claim that since these manufacturers have huge power and financial resources, they should care extremely more about their packaging of goods and use either recycled materials or present the goods without packaging.

On the other hand, there is an opposite attitude regarding this issue; some people point the finger of blame at themselves, believing that we must first blame ourselves. Furthermore, due to the increasing demand for luxury commodities, companies and firms are increasingly investing in producing goods with intriguing packages to attract consumers. Therefore, these people believe that if we can stop this detrimental approach to buying, there is no logical reason for companies to invest in packaging.

In conclusion, despite both theories having logical reasons for their claims, I strongly feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have a huge responsibility to reduce the amount of materials used for packaging.