Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing and controversial debate surrounding the responsibility of reducing packaging in goods in recent years. On one side, some critics strongly believe that it is the responsibility of manufacturers and supermarkets since they produce these products; on the other side, others robustly argue that customers are primarily responsible to avoid purchasing goods that come with excessive packaging because if there is no demand, there is no supply. Both perspectives offer valid points, and in this essay, I am going to evaluate the pros and cons of each.

On the one hand, some individuals noticeably attack manufacturers and supermarkets, accusing them of increasing packaging. These people consider the role of manufacturers more important than that of consumers since they believe that companies are producing goods and, to increase sales, these firms are significantly investing in packaging to attract audiences. Besides, these types of companies not only do not care about the environmental impacts but also do not regard themselves as responsible for encouraging people to use recycled materials and packaging. Consequently, proponents of this theory claim that since these manufacturers have huge power and financial resources, they should extremely concentrate more on their packaging of goods and use either recycled materials or present them without packaging.

On the other hand, there is an opposite attitude toward this issue, pointing the finger of blame at customers that they should avoid buying over-package products. Furthermore, due to the increasing demand for luxury commodities, companies and firms are increasingly investing in producing goods with intriguing packages to attract consumers. However, if people refuse to buy goods with execessive packaging, businesses will have no choice but to adjust to the demand for more eco-friendly products. Therefore, this approach places the responsibility on the individuals to make conscious choices when shopping, which could lead to a reduction in packaging wate over time.

In conclusion, despite both theories having logical reasons for their claims, I strongly suppose that minimizing packaging waste requires shared responsibility. By working together, manufacurers, supermarkets, and consumers can contribute to creating a more sustainable future for all.