Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people regard limiting the number of flights they take annually or opting not to fly at all as reasonable actions from an ecological conservation perspective. In contrast, others regard such a standpoint as impractical for their business and personal preferences. While everyone must bring environmental awareness into daily practice, I believe that it is not necessary to eliminate some of the most practical transport options, such as flying. Instead, we should seek alternatives to the conventional approach.

To begin with, the proponents of the first viewpoint prefer boycotting travel by aircraft altogether, advocating for changes to mitigate the immediate threat to the natural environment. They are more concerned about reducing their carbon footprints today, instead of waiting until tomorrow. In fact, traveling by airplane once a year can cause as much carbon dioxide emission as driving for the entire year. Moreover, the constant air pollution causes substantial harm to the planet’s atmosphere, including depletion of the ozone layer. Additionally, the construction of massive airports in major world capitals also gives rise to an enormous amount of habitat loss for the local wildlife, as deforestation and land clearance are inevitable.

The development of heightened environmental awareness in our society is a beneficial one. Nonetheless, it is imperative to recognize the importance of existing technologies, such as automobiles and airplanes, serving the needs and demands of the global economy as a whole. Hence, we must seek more practical ways to sustain them in the long term for the sake of both business and individual preferences. For example. An increasing number of electronic vehicles have been seen in recent years. In some futuristic events, such as EXPO Osaka, held in Japan in 2025, an electric helicopter was exhibited and available for a trial ride along with a simulation of an electric train. Such a mode of transport is indeed feasible as already presented publicly, and thus the potential for further innovation of such technology should be taken into account when environmental causes are discussed widely.

In conclusion, we must take responsible actions towards environmental conservation daily, refraining from unnecessary options solely to feel comfortable. However, it is paramount that the effort of the state and private enterprises to innovate the existing technology with a long-term approach, such as replacing fossil fuel to clean energy, should not be overlooked, as it greatly outweighs the disadvantages.