Some people said ageing population is a problem for governments other people think it will be advantages if there are more elder people

Nowadays, in many parts of the world, people are now living longer than ever before. Besides, some people think that an ageing population causes problems for governments. Other people say that there are advantages if society has more elderly people. In this essay, I will give my opinion on the problem about does having an ageing population have more advantages than advantages.

First and foremost, elderly people have a wealth of knowledge and life experience that can be passed down younger generations, helping them make wiser decisions. Secondly, many elderly people continue to help their communities after retirement. For instance, some retired teachers give free lessons to poor children, and some older doctors volunteer in local hospitals. Their work is very helpful and makes society better. Thirdly, grandparents often help look after grandchildren, reducing childcare costs and strengthening family relationships.

On the other hand, older people are more likely to suffer from chronic diseases, increasing the workload of hospitals and medical staff. Moreover, a higher proportion of dependent elderly people compared to workers can cause problems for the economy and social structure. A smaller working-age population can lead to worker shortages and slower economic growth. For example, in Japan, many companies find it hard to hire enough young employees, so the economy grows more slowly.

In conclusion, having an ageing population has both benefits and drawbacks. Therefore, it should have a balance about young people and elderly people. It will help countries develop about both economic society well and strongly.