Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects.Other people think that,in todays world,subjects like science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include relevant ecamples from your own knowledge or experience.

In modern age the relevance of proper distribution of school subjects is rapidly increasing. As the humanity’s knowledge of the surrounding world is expanding and the complexity of scientific fields is growing, so inevitably do the curriculums in schools and colleges. Despite this some people insist that History remains among the core school subjects and should not be omitted and reduced in hours in any way. This essay agrees that contemporary study programs need to include an increased number of technical subjects compared to historical and humanitarian ones.

On the one hand, children have to have at least a basic grasp of the objective history of the world and the country they live in, untainted by the political influence on the information presented in the textbooks. Generations which consist of people who have no acknowledgement of the mistakes of the past are bound to repeat them in future. Therefore, History lessons must not be excluded from modern education at all costs. However, all governments are striving to manipulate the information provided to the young in order to increase the levels of patriotism for collective benefits. Thus, all people, especially in our era of media abundance, have to employ critical thinking and develop fact-checking skills to counteract this influence for their own good.

On the other hand, our species’ technologies continue to change the planet to fit our insatiable needs and desire of maximizing comfort, making today’s world impossible to navigate without proper levels of useful education in areas connected to science, electronics and computer skills.

In conclusion, I am inclined to believe that modern school curriculums, in order for them to better suit the current reality, have to recognize the importance of and create relevant technology and computer use subjects, while possibly omitting some of their more theoretical aspects. This allows for History lessons to should remain mostly untouched, as the need is absolutely present.