Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although a segment of the society holds the perception that adverts promote the purchase of unnecessary products, others believe that they are important to create awareness among masses regarding new articles that could enhance their quality of life. From my perspective, I am of the opinion that commercials are counterproductive in a sense that they promote consumerism.

On the one hand, it is no denying the fact that ads can cultivate the understandings of a new item among public. By enlighting population about the technical details and their benefits, it helps them to make an informed decision about buying an item that match their specifications. And, it there was no marketing tool to introduce a product, people would have never known that anything matching their requirements ever exist. For instance, a recent survey by the marketing department of Samsung mobiles underpinned this assertion by revealing that 52 percent of their customers bought their new phone after an advertisement featuring their technicalities went live.

On the other hand, advertisements promote un called for consumerism. By producing commercials with catchy music, colorful visuals, and making misleading claims, they lure their prospective customers. These temptations convince children that ultimately pester their parents to buy these substances. Consequently, it encourages use and throw culture. For example, by advertising fizzy drinks with claims they boast human strengths miraculously, companies coax adolescents to buy them despite having negative consequences for health.

In conclusion, while things of no immediate needs can be sold using advertisements, others are of the view that it crucial for selling of a product. In my opinion, they are sometime not required because they advance unnecessary buying.