Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both the use views and give your opinion.

Prosperity of a country depends on the its economic growth. Some people think that economic growth eradicate hunger and poverty, while others argue that it is destroying the environment. The essay outlines both perspectives along with my opinion.

Economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty because it can improve living standards, provide better education opportunities, and generate more job prospects. For example, the establishment of new factories creates employment opportunities. This leads to increased incomes and self-sufficiency for the less fortunate.

However, economic growth may cause damage to the environment because of the pollution caused by factories. Gases produced from the factories may cause air pollution and contribute to the greenhouse effect. This may lead to the climate change. It is stated that water bodies near factories are polluted which may pave path for spreading of water-borne diseases. For instance, studies show that cholera, diarrhoea, dysentery, hepatitis A, and typhoid are common in people who use water from water bodies which are located near factories.

In conclusion, my opinion is that economic growth can eradicate hunger as it is reported that 18 percentage of India’s GDP is provided by agricultural sector. Therefore by making better investment in agricultural sector, people can establish high yielding crops and plantations. When the productivity increases the rate of poverty automatically reduces.