Some people say that high school programmes should include compulsory unpaid community service (for example coaching sports to younger children, helping to improve the neighbourhood, or volunteering for a charity). To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that high school programmes should encompass mandatory unpaid community service, such as coaching sports to young individuals, serving to improve the neighbourhood, or volunteering for charity work. I agree that schools must cover these programmes, but also pay high school students a reasonable salary for their community work.

My first reason is that high schools should allow students to get involved in community service with a basic salary. To clarify, not all students are going to do these social works, and in order to motivate them to work on these programmes, colleges must pay them. For instance, students who mentor sports to the young generation, help to improve the neighbourhood, and assist charities can bring a positive impact to students’ lives. Moreover, all students can learn new skills to enhance their lifestyle; also, this will make them better human beings and will allow them to level up their careers, and provide great knowledge.

My second reason is that in high school, not all students like to involve themselves in these activities. This is because certain students’ mindsets do not allow them to learn new activities, and their parents dislike their children’s involvement in these activities, and there are a few drawbacks. To illustrate, not all students like to help neighbourhoods because some neighbourhoods are toxic, and this is the reason that students don’t get involved. Therefore, parents do not like to send their children to participate in these works.

In conclusion, high schools and colleges must provide these activities to people with a paid salary because these programmes can bring a positive impact for community service. Moreover, this can teach them more valuable skills in the future.