Some people say that history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps the present. Discuss both the view and give your opinion.

There is a debate over the usefullnes of learning from history, with some saying it has nothing to offer to be used to, others, adding their voices to this controversial debate, arguing learning from past helps us understand issues at hand. In my opinion, most of the past stories have no relevance to present-day problems thereby they are irrelevant.

In some cases learning from past might come handy. Studying history might offer valuable insights in to how cultures and nations evolved over time. This deep insight into past experiences help policy makers and government officials to solve problems in an effective an efficient way. Prosecution cases can be a pertinent example. Present-day lawyers can understand what their counterparts did in the past and what kind of problems arouse as a result whereby avoiding from those mistakes. Apart from this, an insight into past could help societies to develop collectively rather than being divided by divisions of any sort such as racism and languages. These insights often equip people with necessary mindset that drives social cohesion and cultural pride in the long run.

Notwithstanding, I still believe history is of no relevance to the present day issues like global warming and the danger of artificial intelligence. If we always look back and reflect on the past, we are goin to get nowhere as these hurdles on our way towards bright future cannot be solved with ”primitive” approaches. Instead, we are better of finding more innovative ones to make a genuine progress. Beyond the irrelevance, there is trap often stems from focusing too much on the past, which often detracts innovation and development. Overemphasis to history distracts great minds from focusing on the present day issues so they are better of focusing on the present and the future.

In conclusion, history has some valuable insights to offer to us to develop as a society. Yet, I would argue that it often hinders innovation and development if too much attention is given so we had better focus on present and future rather than past.