Some people say that individuals should change jobs during their working life often while others believe that doing the same job has advantages to individuals, companies, and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many are of the opinion that job holders should remain in the same job for a long time because this could bring some benefits for individuals, corporations and society. Although there are tangible benefits related to this suggestion, I firmly believe that changing jobs holds a greater value for workers.

Those who advocate the idea of sticking to the same occupation point out the positive outcomes for all sides involved in doing and managing jobs. To begin with, individuals can have a stable income to support themselves and their families, and they can get a promotion to move up the career ladder if they stay in a position long enough. Besides, companies can save a large sum of money from training and recruiting new employees, as well as increase company ethos by having a stable workforce who can work in tandem with each other for a significant amount of time. In addition, when employees are satisfied with their status quo, there will be less likelihood of worker resentment or subsequent unemployment. In the aggregate, this will create stability in society.

Supporters of changing jobs during a lifetime argue that this decision will help the workers develop and find their most satisfying career path. In fact, many individuals graduate from their university without a full understanding of the actual working environment of their fields. It is common for them to end up realizing they are not suitable for the job after a certain period at the workplace. For example, many bachelor’s degree holders in business often find they can not keep up with the fast pace of the market and stand strongly in the fierce competition in the business environment. Therefore, a shift in occupation can give them an opportunity to discover their passion and follow their true pursuits. After some moves in their career path, they can settle down with one job and build a sound career that fits them later in life.