Some people say that learning a foreign language is only useful for travelling or working in another country. Others believe there are other reasons to learn a second language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A wide amount of people agree that learning a foreign language is only useful for travelling or working in another country. On the other hand others think that there are different reasons to learn a second language. This essays states that learning new languages can be significantly useful for many more reasons than just work and travel.

Starting off, a recent study showed that over 65% of people state that learning a foreign language is only useful if you are an individual that is studying abroad or working in another country. This point of view can be both right and wrong, as there are other alternatives like Google translate and many other applications that can be used to help you achieve that and communicate with foreigners. A clear example states that learning a new language can be as important as landing the job, while it may be a mentally devastating challenge to accomplish but learning it has many positives and may gradually increase your work rate and salary which is something that every individual admires.

On the other hand, the study shows that 35% of people are of the opinion that there are other reasons that do not consist of working and travelling to learn a foreign language. Other reasons like a hobby, meeting a new person or even finding love abroad. It seems to me that not many individuals agree with this point of view, I would argue that it is basically a waste of time to learn a foreign language without a valid reason, without valid grounds i do not support this opinion.

It came to the conclusion that this essay had a slight debrief about both opinions. in today’s essay, in my view I would agree with the first opinion as I believe that its generally the stronger opinion in this discussion.