Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Other people say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this contemporary era, there is a conflicting belief about whether schools should focus on teaching teenagers academic subjects that are thought to be beneficial for their future careers, while others say that there is still a demand for subjects like music and sports. In this essay, both viewpoints will be closely analyzed before reasons why I gravitate towards the latter perspective are given.

Granted, the increasing volume of lessons for subjects like Mathematics, Physics, and Chemistry can be beneficial for students to some extent. Many jobs related to business, engineering, and economics require the capacity for calculating, logical thinking, and problem-solving, which can only be obtained from academic programs in school. Individuals who are better equipped with these skills can encounter various circumstances, reduce the damage of drawbacks that may arise in the future. Furthermore, students with high performance in these subjects reflect the ability to have an advantage over those with poor performance, especially when competing in a certain situation, such as doing a project; they might quickly come up with ideas and offer solutions to solve it. As a result, it is necessary to concentrate on building intensive academic programs for students, considering both the accumulative knowledge of certain subjects and a good future career.

On the other hand, it is understandable why some advocate the necessity of music and sports for children. Many individuals with the aptitude to become a singer, composer, or an athlete should be trained at an early age, in an attempt to capitalize fully on their potential. With early exposure to these subjects, it fosters a strong professional foundation and profound passion to achieve a highly successful career. Additionally, by embedding sports at school, children can gain benefits in several ways. Through these activities, they encourage students to cooperate with each other, develop the capacity for teamwork and empathy when they are in difficult situations, and sometimes they need to sacrifice their own glory to reach the team goal. Hence, subjects like sports and music also play a crucial role in mental well-being and overall development in achieving a successful occupation.

In conclusion, while it is justifiable that many academic subjects at school are useful for children’s success, the potential benefits of music and sporting subjects should not be underestimated, as they can facilitate opportunities for individuals to follow their passion and develop their full potential.