Some people say that the Olympic games are not relevant in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

It is frequently believed that events, such as the Olympic Games, are not important for contemporary society. Despite this opinion, I believe that competition and building relationships and stronger bonds between the countries should be supported by this type of game.

First of all, competition is a significant attribute of power. In some cases, it is pleasing for many small states, which are not economically powerful, to triumph over a wealthy territory. For instance, Argentina is very poor with a high level of corruption; however, in football, it is a big player, which can win against the United Kingdom.

Besides that, the mentioned games can contribute to the expansion of relationships between countries. This is because at the stadiums there could meet many influential businessmen, government officials, and entrepreneurs, who should develop their contacts and afterward their business. For instance, in 2014, in Berlin, the Prime Minister of Slovakia met the Russian President at the Olympic Games. They extended their cooperation in a gas environment. Besides that, the Slovak Republic helped establish healthy food habits in Russian primary schools, where there was a significant issue with obesity.

In conclusion, the Olympic Games are a very valuable event, which can lead to cooperation between countries in many subjects. I supported this idea with relevant examples, where international cooperation enhanced relationships between countries and, moreover, helped to solve the problem of overweight pupils. On the other hand, despite the fact that some states are poorer, they still can compete in some subjects, such as sports. In my opinion, it is crucial to create and support this type of competition because good sportsmanship should lead to creating international friendships.