Some people say the main way to be happy in life is to have a lot of money. How, might having a lot of money make people happy?what other things in life can make people happy?

It is a common belief that the fundamental way to reaching happiness in life is to be rich. However, some might argue that having a lot of money would not contribute to happiness and there are other factors that can lead to feeling happy in life. This controversial subject could make us contemplate on how to reach joy in life and also redefine the true meaning of it.

In a world that everything circles around money it might not be irrelevant that we assign happiness to money. Money is the real reason we go to work every day so we could provide our family. And it is fundamental goal of some individuals to become affluent. Basically, money is the foundation of this society that generations before generations struggled to build so. Scientists have concluded that affluency could lead to more happiness since you are provided with the basics and eventually you will have less disturbances in life. So science approves the big myth. But I believe there are some exceptions.

The question “how rich are you?” would be essential to answering the role of money in life satisfaction and happiness. Although science agrees with the phrase “money leads to happiness” , but in real life you are not necessarily more happy provided that you are richer. It appears that there is an invisible threshold to that. There are several stories about billionaires and their families around the world that would contradict with the theory. Take Murdoch family for instance. Rupert Murdoch, a media mogul, who was always in fight with his children. The competition between children that who would inherit their father wealth and power. The share stocks and money was their subject of dispute.

By reading about families and dynasties like the Murdochs or Redstones, you would conclude that despite the support of science, money does not necessarily buy happiness. Billionaires seems to confront with brand new problems because of their wealth. Not spending sufficient amount of time with their family would result in divorce or break ups in prosperous families. The thirst for more money would enforce them to do anything for another cent per share of their stocks.

In conclusion, money could buy you happiness but it depends on how rich you are.