Some people thick that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true functions of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What , in your opinion, should be the main function of a university

Universities are known as important places affecting the progress of students’ knowledge in different fields. However, a group of people believe that universities should focus on the skills that students require for their careers after graduation. In contrast, another group thinks that the students should learn abilities for themselves without considering their occupations in the future. In this essay, I am going to mention why I agree with the second viewpoint as the main function of universities is training the students.

After graduation, finding an appropriate position related to attaining an academic degree is a big challenge for all students. It is possible that some of them failed to find the desirable job; hence, they have to search in another field. For example, a student who graduated in food science will seek to be hired in the food industry but cannot reach this goal. According to the first group’s idea, this person has no chance of finding a job due to having no other skills beyond food science. While relying on the second idea, this person knows how should overcome this issue and use other abilities learnt while studying at universities such as using a computer. Therefore, this person may be successful in finding a good position using this potential.

Another aspect that makes me interested in the second viewpoint is related to its effect on improving the student’s talents and making them creative. Indeed, teachers usually teach basic knowledge to students by limiting the sources of a course to some defined references. While, it would be more effective to guide them on how to find the answer to the questions resulting in making them creative.

In conclusion, considering the critical role of universities in students’s lives, it is important to have the most efficient function in training them to be successful not only in their field of study but also in helping them to find their abilities and try to apply them.